skip to Main Content

In 2017, The Gillian Reny Stepping Strong Center for Trauma Innovation announced a new grant opportunity for previous Innovator Award winners seeking additional funds to advance their research to the next level. Each year, the center provides two to three Breakthrough Awards to investigators who have demonstrated scientific efficacy and published papers in peer-reviewed journals.

Stepping Strong Breakthrough grants can be used for different purposes, including:

  • As multiyear support for the program and operations of an ongoing project;
  • As unrestricted funds to help guide the research toward an eventual product, service, procedure, or community program; or
  • As gap funding to continue research while securing larger grants from private funders and government agencies.

Stepping Strong Center leadership works closely with Breakthrough Awards recipients to provide them with strategic guidance, access to the Stepping Strong Center network, and assistance promoting their work.

2020 Breakthrough Award Recipients
Omid C. Farokhzad, MD, MBA

Omid C. Farokhzad, MD, MBA

Using Multifunctional Scaffolds to Promote Bacterial-Free Bone Healing and Regeneration

Natalie Artzi, PhD

Natalie Artzi, PhD

Healing infected bones: Advanced technology for treating posttraumatic osteomyelitis

Bohdan Pomahac, MD

An Ultraportable Device for Rescuing Limbs

Su Ryon Shin, PhD

Su Ryon Shin, PhD

Using connective tissue biomaterials to improve muscle regeneration

2019 Breakthrough Award Recipient

Reza Abdi, MD

Improving the Care of Patients With Severe Burn Injuries

2018 Breakthrough Award Recipients

Eric Goralnick, MD

Developing Common Standards for Disaster Medicine

Indranil Sinha, MD

Direct Scaffold Printing

2017 Breakthrough Award Recipient

Matthew J. Carty, MD

The Ewing Amputation

Back To Top