skip to Main Content
Presenting the 2020 Stepping Strong Innovator Award Winners

We are excited to introduce you to the recipients of the 2020-21 Stepping Strong Innovator Awards. Three extraordinary research teams were granted $100,000 grants to pursue groundbreaking projects to advance trauma research and care in the continuum of care—from prevention to treatment to recovery. The awards were announced during the Third Annual Stepping Strong Trauma Research and Innovation Symposium, a virtual event that took place on November 19, 2020.

The winners are:

Yi Lu, MD, PhD

Yi Lu, MD, PhD
Director, Neurological Trauma, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School


Developing treatments for progressive visual impairment following traumatic brain injury

Jeffrey C. Schneider, MD

Jeffrey C. Schneider, MD
Medical Director, Burn, Trauma, and Orthopedic Rehabilitation, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital
Associate Chair, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Harvard Medical School


Digital phenotyping: A novel way to assess outcomes for burn survivors after hospitalization

Arvind Von Keudell, MD

Arvind von Keudell, MD
Director, Geriatric Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery and Research, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School


Optimizing orthopaedic trauma surgical procedures with personalized implants and augmented reality

More than 100 attendees attended the virtual symposium, which featured research updates from 2019-20 Innovator and Breakthrough Award winners, Stepping Strong-funded COVID projects, and a keynote presentation by Lenworth Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS, entitled “National Stop the Bleed Initiative: Educating and Empowering the Public.”

Back To Top